Beyoncé’s New Album Finally Has A Name

And it might offer a clue to what the album is about.

Originally Published: 

At long last, Beyoncé’s new album finally has a title: Act II: Cowboy Carter is what it’ll be called the pop star revealed, not in a statement, but by merely posting a link to her updated merch website (because, of course).

Subtlety has been the name of the game for the rollouts of Beyoncé’s last couple albums, but it’s been especially so for this one. She announced the record in a surprise Verizon commercial that aired during the 2024 Super Bowl while simultaneously dropping two of its songs, “Texas Hold ‘Em” and “16 Carriages,” also without warning. I’m no publicist but it’s worth wondering if this choice has something to do with the album being her “country” record — something that its title appears to nod to. She invokes her husband’s last name, Carter, which feels like a reference to the “real” Beyoncé — not just the globally adored pop star but also the mother and wife. Unlike pop, country music is all about tearing down facades, so we could be in for some real vulnerable bops in the near future.

Of course, this is all speculation, but you can find out everything that we do know about the album, so far, below.

What is Beyoncé’s new album called?

The singer’s long awaited follow-up to Renaissance is officially titled Act II: Cowboy Carter.

When is the album’s release date?

The album is set to drop March 29, 2024. You can pre-order it now here.

What songs will be on it?

The album’s will contain 27 songs, the singer revealed on Instagram. Notable tracks include a cover a “Jolene,” “The Linda Martell Show,” a reference to the first Black country artist to play the Opry, as well as songs called “Dolly P,” and Smoke Hour Willie Nelson” — though it’s unclear if those artists will be featured. See the full tracklist below.

  1. Ameriican Requiem
  2. Blackbiird
  3. 16 Carriages
  4. Protector
  5. My Rose
  6. Smoke Hour Willie Nelson
  7. Texas Hold ‘Em
  8. Bodygard
  9. Dolly P
  10. Jolene
  11. Daughter
  12. Spaghetti
  13. Alligator Tears
  14. Smoke Hour II
  15. Just For Fun
  16. II Most Wanted
  17. Levii’s Jeans
  18. Flamenco
  19. The Linda Martell Show
  20. Ya Ya
  21. Oh Louisiana
  22. Desert Eagle
  23. Riiverdance
  24. II Hands II Heaven
  25. Tyrant
  26. Sweet Honey Buckin
  27. Amen

What are the themes of the album?

As the record’s title and first two singles suggest, Cowboy Carter will be Beyoncé’s country album, though the pop star has kept mum about its themes. Judging from its first two songs, which pay homage to Texas and her childhood, it’ll likely traverse stories about her hometown, growing up, and family.

This article was originally published on